A recipe for living with cancer.

Johnny Cakes

This last week has been difficult. It started with a pinched nerve in my shoulder and traveled up my neck. It escalated into neck spasms which left me breathless and in tears being unable to relax, sleep or eat. A visit to my PCP and a prescription for Flexeril and OxyContin allowed me to do all three. I got a massage and am now on the mend. My family and friends have been most supportive and I knew for sure I was getting better when I awoke this morning wanting Johnny Cakes. These were my Dad’s favorite and Mom made them from a box of Jiffy Corn mix.

Here is a healthy version that makes more than enough for two
1/2 cup cornmeal
1 cup organic oat flour (you can use a variety of flours here)
2 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
1 egg
1 tsp oil
3/4 cup milk (I use almond)
Place dry ingredients in bowl, add wet ingredient and stir just until blended, lumps are ok.
Spray a pan with oil, drop by spoon or ladle full turn when bubbles form.

You can add blueberries, or other ripe cut up fruit. Serve with honey or maple syrup.

Yum. Each treatment holds another surprise…but 3 down and 5 to go.

Comments on: "Johnny Cakes" (2)

  1. Keep on Barb.
    Stan

  2. Rebecca Kleyman said:

    We enjoyed your Johnny Cakes topped with fresh strawberries & maple syrup this Monday morn…thanks for sharing…wishing you a restful day! Love, Beck & Jim

Leave a comment